The Retail Business Holidays Act

The Retail Business Holidays Act determines which retail stores may remain open on statutory holidays, which include:

  • New Year's Day
  • Family Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Sunday
  • Victoria Day
  • Canada Day
  • Labour Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

Stores that may Remain Open

There are some exceptions, depending on the type of retail store, what the store sells, its size, the number of employees normally working, as well as other criteria.

Some stores and geographical locations have a tourism exemption by-law. These by-laws typically apply to only a few of the statutory holidays listed above.

Determining if your Store can Open on Holidays

To determine if your store is eligible to open on holidays, have your legal counsel review the retail information package, as well as the provincial legislation.

We are unable to offer legal advice.

Obtaining a Tourism Exemption By-law

Your store may be granted a tourism exemption by-law by applying through the Regional Clerk's office.

Step 1: Contact the Regional Clerk before applying for a tourism exemption.

Step 2: Download and complete the by-law and tourism exemption application: Word (electronic form) or PDF (print form)

The non-refundable fee for businesses under 2,400 sq. ft. for serving the public, or that normally have less than four employees serving the public is $750 plus HST (for a total of $847.50).

There is an additional $100.00 fee for businesses 2,400 sq. ft. or more for serving the public, or that normally have four or more employees serving the public (for a total of $960.50).

About the Retail Business Holidays Act

Provincial Legislation

Proclamations of Holidays Not Listed in the Act

Page Feedback Did you find what you were looking for today?