Winners of 2022 Niagara Biennial Design Awards announced

The excellence and innovation in design of the built environment in Niagara was on full display Tuesday as the winners of the Niagara Biennial Design Awards were announced at its first in-person awards ceremony held on Jan. 17, 2023. The 2022 Awards was the second installment of Niagara’s Biennial Design Awards, its bi-annual program that began in 2020.
The awards were open to owners, developers, architects, landscape architects, urban designers, planners, engineers, interior designers, artists and students involved with a specific design project in Niagara. A total of 11 award-winners were selected from 35 submissions, and represent the quality and diversity of design of the built environment in Niagara in five design categories. Award winning submissions were chosen by a panel of design professionals.
The winners recognized at the awards were as follows:
Grand Prize Winners
Niagara Parks Power Station
Niagara Parks Commission
Interior Public Space
Neil Campbell Rowing Centre
City of St. Catharines and Henley Rowing Corporation
Outstanding Achievement Winners
Architecture Category
Walker Sport and Abilities Centre
Brock University, City of St. Catharines, City of Thorold, Niagara Region
Spirit in Niagara Small Batch Distillery
Spirit in Niagara Distillery Corp.
Student Commons
Niagara College
Landscape Architecture Category
Rotary Park
Town of Lincoln
Bridge Street Roundabout
Niagara Region
The Gardens at Pillar and Post Inn
Lais Hotel Properties Inc.
Outdoor Art Category
Poppy Project
Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum
Downtown Bench Alley
Downtown Bench Beamsville BIA
Visionary Design Category
Port Robinson Ecological Park Conceptual Master Plan
City of Thorold


"The Biennial Design Awards ceremony was an exciting opportunity for us to join together from across the region, establishing a tradition of celebrating the role of design in enriching and enhancing our unique and diverse communities. The winners of the 2022 Awards exemplify the high quality buildings, streets, and spaces that are the building blocks of sustainable, balanced, and rewarding communities worth living in. Niagara Region is committed to promoting design excellence and we thank all those who submitted entries for their contributions to design that creates a more vibrant Niagara. I extend my sincere congratulations to all of the 2022 award winners."
~ Jim Bradley, Regional Chair

Media Inquiries

Janet Rose (media only)
Niagara Region
905-980-6000 ext. 3215

Share this article: Facebook  |  Twitter

Page Feedback Did you find what you were looking for today?