Accessibility Plan: 2018 - 2023

Section 3: Municipal Information

Niagara Region
1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way
P.O. Box 1042
Thorold, ON
L2V 4T7

Local phone number: 905-980-6000
Toll-free phone number: 1-800-263-7215

TTY - Teletypewriter (text communication phone)

Local phone number: 905-984-3613
Toll-free phone number: 1-866-913-3444

Key Contacts:

Steve Murphy
Accessibility Advisory Coordinator
Office of the Regional Clerk
Niagara Region
905-685-4225 ext. 3252
Email Steve Murphy

Kelly Lotimer
Legislative Assistant
Office of the Regional Clerk
Niagara Region
905-685-4225 ext. 3222
Email Kelly Lotimer

Municipal Highlights

The Niagara region is located in southern Ontario between two of North America's Great Lakes (Ontario and Erie), covers an area of 1854 sq. km (715 sq. miles) and is composed of 12 municipalities with a combined population of 447,888.

Niagara became part of the reform movement to create new forms of governance: regional governments. On June 26, 1969, the provincial legislature enacted The Regional Municipality of Niagara Act. On Jan. 1, 1970, 12 area governments and one regional government replaced the two counties and 26 municipal structures.

Niagara Regional Council comprises a chair and 30 councillors representing five cities, five towns and two townships.

Niagara's 12 area municipalities are:

  • Fort Erie, population 30,710
  • Grimsby, population 27,314
  • Lincoln, population 23,787
  • Niagara Falls, population 88,071
  • Niagara-on-the-Lake, population 17,511
  • Pelham, population 17,110
  • Port Colborne, population 18,306
  • St. Catharines, population 133,113
  • Thorold, population 18,801
  • Wainfleet, population 6,372
  • Welland, population 52,293
  • West Lincoln, population 14,500

Source: Stats Canada 2015

Section 4: Legislation and Interpretation Section 2: Message from Accessibility Advisory Committee Chair

Page Feedback Did you find what you were looking for today?