Nomination / Criteria for T. Roy Adams Humanitarian of the Year Award

Award Eligibility

  • Current resident of Niagara
  • Evidence that the spirit of volunteerism and community service plays an integral part of the individual's life
  • A person whose community service has involved the citizens of Niagara

Elected officials (currently in office) and employees of Niagara Region are not eligible.

Nomination Process

A nominee for the T. Roy Adams Humanitarian Award:

  • May be sponsored by either an organization or two individuals (co-sponsors, not related to the nominee)
  • Will remain eligible for three years
  • Cannot be considered posthumously

For applications made this year, the three runners up will automatically be forwarded to the next two years.

Selection Process

An adjudication committee comprised of the Regional Chair, Regional Councillors, senior staff and one member of the community will review the nominations and select the recipient.

The award will be presented at the Regional Council meeting in July. The recipient's name will also be engraved on the commemorative plaque which is displayed in the lobby of the Regional Headquarters Building.

Evaluation Criteria

Evaluation CriteriaExplanationWeight (%)
Quality of the 'humanitarian' serviceIs it truly humanitarian?20
Scope of Humanitarian ImpactWho does it affect?16
Personal commitment/ sacrifice (time, cost)What is the degree of sacrifice/commitment
(e.g. time commitment)?
Need for the community serviceWhat is the community demand?14
New, unique initiative/ideaIs it a common/ubiquitous community service?12
Niagara benefitIs it region-wide or strictly local?10
Extent of volunteer/professional capacityIs it an extension of the nominee's current job (remuneration)?8
References What is the relative quality and content of submission through additional support information?4


For more information, contact Charlotte Powell at 905-980-6000 ext. 3221 or visit the Regional Clerk's Office.

Page Feedback Did you find what you were looking for today?